Skip to main content

Edinburgh Comedy Festival Awards 2019

Edinburgh Comedy Festival Awards 2019

Welcome back to the Creative Awards London blog where we showcase the latest in our custom awards and trophies and the going ons of our workshop. we are delighted to announce the latest addition to our ever-expanding portfolio of awards with the Edinburgh Comedy Awards. 

Established in 1981, the Edinburgh Comedy Awards are the most prestigious awards within UK comedy. Presented to the very best performers and shows at the world-renowned Edinburgh Fringe Festival, the awards have been a launchpad for the careers of some of the most successful comedians of the past four decades. 

Edinburgh Fringe Awards 2019Also known as the Oscars of Comedy, the awards have gone under many a guise and different names over the years. For over 20 years they were most famously known as The Perrier Award, but as the sponsors came to change, from to Foster’s lager, Absolute Radio to Intelligent Finance, so did the name of the awards. As Shakespeare famously quipped, ‘A rose by any other name would smell as sweet’. Now in their latest incarnation with acclaimed comedy channel Dave as the sponsor, the Eddies (maybe it is just easier to refer to them like that) are still as desirable and prized as they have always been.

Over 40 years of development by theatre impresario Nica Burns have seen the festival and the awards snowball into the biggest and best celebration of comedy and performing arts in the land. The true testimony status of the awards is, of course, the quality of the acts that have won them. The inaugural winners were Cambridge Footlights in 1981 whose line up included Stephen Fry, Hugh Laurie, and Emma Thompson, Sean Hughes (still the youngest ever winner at age 24), Frank Skinner, Steve Coogan, Dylan Moran, The League of Gentlemen, and Al Murray. Among the nominees are some equally stellar acts including The Mighty Boosh, Jimmy Carr, Omid Djalili, Peter Kay, Eddie Izzard, and Ross Noble.

Presented by Stephen Fry, who won the inaugural award as part of the Cambridge Footlights back in 1981, the winners were:

Best Newcomer 2019: Catherine Cohen.

Panel Prize: Jessica Brough 

Best Show 2019: Jordan Brookes.

Creative Awards London would like to wish all involved with the festival, from performers to the public, the most enjoyable time this year. For more information on the award contact our team via or call 020 8159 2748.

Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Click here to continue shopping.
Thanks for contacting us! We'll get back to you as soon as possible. Thanks for subscribing Thanks! We will notify you when it becomes available! The max number of items have already been added There is only one item left to add to the cart There are only [num_items] items left to add to the cart